Service Times: 

Friday March 16

Parshat Vayikrah, Shabbat Rosh Chodesh, Parshat HaChodesh

Candle Lighting 6:46 PM

Mincha/Kabbalat Shabbat/Ma’ariv: 6:50 PM

Shkia – 6:04 PM

Rabbi Yaakov Sprung returns as Beth Israel  Synagogue’s Scholar-in- Residence on March 24, Shabbat Tzav, Shabbat Hagadol. The community is invited. Rabbi Sprung will speak directly following Musaf at approximately 11:00 -11:15 AM, followed by Kiddush (all invited) and again at Seudah Shlishit,. Rabbi Sprung’s Musaf topic is: “Freedom: The Magnetic Fire of Torah”

Shabbat March 17 – Three Sifrei Torah;

First –6 Aliyot are read from Parshat Vayikrah

Second – 7th Aliya, Shabbat Rosh Chodesh laining in Parshat Pinchus

Third – Maftir, Parshat HaChodesh from Parshat Bo


Shacharit 9:00 AM followed by Musaf, and a Kiddush sponsored by Joe Falkenstein

Mincha:  6:30 PM followed by Seudah Shilishit

Ma’ariv:  7:41 PM

Motzaei Shabbat:  7:47 PM


Sunday, Mar 18– Shacharit 8:00 AM

Monday, Mar 19- Shacharit: 6:05 Earliest Talit & Tefilin 6:09 AM

Tuesday, Mar 20– Shacharit: 6:10 Earliest Talit & Tefilin 6:07 AM

Wednesday, Mar 21 – Shacharit: 6:10 AM  Earliest Talit & Tefilin 6:05 AM

Thursday, March 22- Shacharit: 6:05 AM  Earliest Talit & Tefilin 6:03 AM

Friday, March 23 – Shacharit: 6:10 AM  Earliest Talit & Tefilin 6:02 AM




  1. Mazel Tov to Sharon and Jonathan Sherman on the engagement of their son Mike to Sarah Chubak.

2 Nechama Price now serves as a consultant to women in the West Orange/Livingston communities to answer questions related to niddah and family purity. She can be reached at or 201-888-6999.

  1. BI is partnering with a charitable trust to offer financial aid assistance to needy elderly. Anyone wishing to inquire can contact Doug Eisenberg, President.

4.. As is our custom every year, Beth Israel Synagogue has arranged with to distribute Maot Hitim funds to MetroWest area families in need to assist them in preparing for Pesach. Checks can be mailed to Beth Israel Synagogue (567 Pleasant Valley Way) or deposited in an envelope placed in the Shul lobby on the bulletin board.  Last Day for collection is Sunday March 25th.